The site of the former coastguard lookout has now been adapted for use as a visitor centre. It will take visitors through the history of the area from about 400AD to the present time. To adapt the lookout building which was built on the inner rampart of the fort, over 300 tons of rubble put there by the Picts some 1500 years ago was removed by hand.
Burghead visitor centre has now been awarded three star grading and mobility access certificate from Visit Scotland.
In 2013 a new extension was opened giving stunning views over the Moray Firth which can now be enjoyed even in inclement weather.
The extension features panels on the lives of the herring lasses who followed the herring fishing fleet from Barra to Lowestoft, and also information of the natural history of the headland and the Moray Firth.